Tuesday, January 18, 2011

The Lying Game

The Lying Game
By Sara Shepard
310 (ARC)

Summary: Emma has always wanted a family, so when she sees a strange video of a girl who looks identical to her she begins to search for her long lost twin Sutton. However, when Emma shows up in town, Sutton is missing and everyone in Sutton’s life thinks Emma is her. She’s pretty sure Sutton has been murdered and if she wants to avoid being the next victim she must play along until she can catch the killer and avenge the sister she never had.

Review: The Lying Game is an exciting read with a lot of plot twists and turns. Readers who enjoy mysteries and fast-paced plots will enjoy this new series by Shepard. The characters are of the ‘mean girl’ variety which some might find makes the book seem a little shallow. Despite this, I enjoyed the characters, especially the duality in voice (both Sutton and Emma narrate). Having Emma find out the truth about her sister at the same time that Sutton begins to realize the type of person she was did add an interesting dynamic to the story. Another series to love.

Also by Sara Shepard: Pretty Little Liars series

If you liked the Lying Game you might also enjoy: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard, Private by Kate Brian, Deadly Little Secrets by Laurie Haria Stolarz, The Uninvited by Tim Wynne Jones

Additional Info: There will be four books, the second one Never Have I Ever is set to be released spring 2011

Author website: http://www.prettylittleliars.com/author/

Rating: W3/4 C3/4 P4/4 O2/4 PP3/4 CR3/4
Grade Level Interest: JS


Blog designed by Dreamy Blog Designs using Cré@Bisontines Everyday Blessings kit